All 32 nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland

From Antrim to Wicklow, the counties of Ireland each have their own nickname — and here are all 32.

While Ireland is often associated with traditional music, pastoral settings, cosy pubs, and the craic (the local term for Irish humour), another component of its character is its use of slang and certain terminology.

Every country has its own little ways of putting things. These are colloquialisms that have been woven into the local dialect so long that it is second nature to natives.

An example of this would be the individual nicknames for the counties of Ireland. Here they are — all 32 of them!

32. Antrim the Glens county

Antrim is known as the Glens county.
Credit: Tourism Northern Ireland

A glen is another word for a valley. The Glens of Antrim, or more commonly, the Glens, is a region in County Antrim known for its nine glens.

31. Armagh – the orchard county

Did you know that Bramley apples originated from County Armagh? Now you do! No wonder why its nickname is the orchard county.

30. Carlow – the dolmen county

The dolmen county is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

You may have guessed it, but the reason Carlow is known as the dolmen county is due to the Brownshill Dolmen that resides there. It is also sometimes referred to as the mount Leinster county.

29. Cavan – the Breifne (also Brefni) county

Cavan’s nickname references the ancient Breifne clan who once ruled the area.

28. Clare – the banner county

County Clare has the age-old nickname of the banner county.

This could be referring to multiple banner incidents during the county’s history, but one thing we can all agree on is that this is its nickname.

27. Cork – the rebel county

Cork is the rebel county.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

In 1491, a pretender to the English throne, Perkin Warbeck, arrived in Cork City, claiming to be the Duke of York.

Although the Earl of Kildare fought his efforts, many people stood behind Warbeck. It is through this that County Cork came to be considered, to the English throne, as the rebel county.

26. Derry – the oak grove or oak leaf county

This has a simple back story: Derry in the Irish language means oak.

25. Donegal – the forgotten county (also the county of the Gaels)

In the far reaches of the Northwest border lies Donegal, or what is referred to by many as the forgotten county.

24. Down – Mourne country or kingdom of Mourne

The Mourne county is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

The majestic Mourne Mountains are located in County Down, thus inspiring its nickname.

Also, interestingly, County Down is one of the few counties of Ireland to adopt the term country or kingdom of.

23. Dublin – the Pale (also the smoke or the metropolitan county)

The Pale was an area once controlled by the English, which surrounded Dublin, thus leading to its most common nickname.

22. Fermanagh – the lakeland county

Fermanagh is the lakeland county.
Credit: Tourism Northern Ireland

As you may have guessed, there are a lot of pretty lakes and waterways here.

21. Galway the hooker county

In this instance, the word hooker is referring to a local type of boat.

20. Kerry the kingdom county

This nickname goes back centuries, and there’s no exact reason why.

19. Kildare – the short grass county (also the thoroughbred county)

The short grass county is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Fáilte Ireland

As you may have guessed, a lot of horseracing goes on in these parts.

18. Kilkenny – the marble county (also the ormond county)

This nickname comes from the marble from which much of the old city is built, which — fun fact — actually isn’t marble, but rather carboniferous limestone.

However, the marble county sounds a lot better than the carboniferous limestone county!

17. Laois – O’Moore county (also queen’s county)

The common nickname is in fact queen’s county, but this is not too popular with the locals these days, so let’s just go with O’Moore County.

16. Leitrim – wild rose county

Leitrim is the wild rose county.
Credit: / @sarahtevendale

The reason behind this nickname is pretty obvious: there are a lot of wild roses in Leitrim.

15. Limerick – the treaty county

Limerick earned its native nickname with reference to the Treaty of Limerick in 1691, ending the Williamite War in Ireland.

14. Longford – the county of the slashers

The county of the slashers is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: / @Sarah777

This nickname refers to Myles ‘the Slasher’ O’Reilly, an Irish fighter killed defending his local territory, in 1644.

13. Louth – the wee county

As you can probably guess, Louth is Ireland’s smallest county.

12. Mayo – maritime county

Mayo is the maritime county.
Credit: Fáilte Ireland

Sitting along the Atlantic Coastline with tonnes of emphasis on water activities, it is plain to see how Mayo earned its nickname.

11. Meath – the royal county

This name refers back to ancient days when high kings held power in the County of Meath.

10. Monaghan – the drumlin county (also the lake county)

The drumlin county is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

Monaghan earned its title as the drumlin county due to its unique rolling landscape of little hills, ridges, and valleys.

9. Offaly – the faithful county

Offaly is also sometimes called the middle county due to its location in the middle of Ireland.

8. Roscommon – mutton chop county

Roscommon is the mutton chop county.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

In Roscommon, they farm a lot of sheep, hence the name.

7. Sligo – Yeats country

This is another county that is referred to as a country. It is also where W. B.  Yeats wrote prolifically.

6. Tipperary – the premier county

The premier county is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

An exact source for this nickname is unknown, but it’s a good one regardless.

5. Tyrone – O’Neill country

Again the use of country is seen, and the name is in reference to the ancient O’Neill clan who ruled the area.

4. Waterford – the crystal county

Waterford is the crystal county.

Waterford Crystal spawned from this county in the 18th-century. Enough said!

3. Westmeath – the lake county

Again, we have a reference to the many lakes of a county.

2. Wexford – the model county

This term is actually referring to early traditional farming methods!

1. Wicklow – the garden county (also the Garden of Ireland)

The Garden County is one of the nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland.
Credit: Tourism Ireland

Imagine the prettiest garden you’ve ever seen: that’s Wicklow.

Plan Your Trip​

Where are you going? Click and Read!

Find Your Dream Hotel in Ireland

On the hunt for the ultimate hotel for your Irish adventure? Explore a curated selection ranging from the charming heritage of boutique accommodations in Dublin's vibrant heart to the tranquil luxury of rural retreats and the captivating coastal vistas. Start your search below to find the perfect stay with our trusted hotel partner.

Get featured on Ireland Before You Die

Do you want to get your Irish business more online exposure? Especially to those interested in travelling the best places in Ireland? Then why not get a dedicated feature on Ireland Before You Die. Find out more here.

Related Posts


Ireland Before You Die is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Send this to a friend